Skip to content

Mayor and Council

The Council is the legislative body; its members are the community’s decision-makers.

The powers of the Council are defined in the City Charter which is reviewed by the Council and centralized in the elected Council. The City Council sets the goals of the City on a yearly basis and approved the budget that is developed by the City Administrator to meet the Council’s goals. The Council focuses on the community’s goals, major projects, and such long-term considerations as community growth, land use development, capital improvements plans, capital financing, and strategic planning. The Council hires a professional city administrator to carry out the administrative responsibilities and supervises the administrator’s performance.

The six members of the City Council are elected at-large to their positions by the voters and each serves two-year terms.  The City of Cottonwood Shores City Council meetings are the first and third Thursday of the month at 6:00 p.m., at the City Community Center located at 4111 Cottonwood Drive, Cottonwood shores, Texas 78657. (Due to Covid19 the City Council meetings are being held via Zoom. See Online Meetings)


Donald Orr
Michael Ritchie
Councilmember Place 1
Brigitte Thomas
Councilmember Place 2
Cheryl Trinidad
Councilmember Place 3 (Mayor Pro-tem)
Ray Whitis
Councilmember Place 4
Roger L. Wayson
Councilmember Place 5